Standard

Bully is finally playing in our area, at Steelstax in Bethlehem, just for this weekend!

juliebat

I keep seeing commercials for The Bully Project.  So I’m starting to pay attention.  I watched an interview with Alex Libby, one of the 5 kids who were followed for a year in this important documentary. The stories of these kids are heart-breaking, and include two  children who committed suicide after prolonged bullying.

Something about Alex made me watch more carefully — does he have some form of autism? They don’t mention it – but I spot a blue puzzle pin near his  shoulder, and when I look closely his mom is wearing one too.  I check  the promotional website but Alex’s bio doesn’t mention Autism. I wonder why.

Digging deeper, I find an explanation from the film-maker, Lee Hirsch: “…both Tyler Long and Alex have Asperger’s Syndrome, and we made a conscious decision not to disclose that in the film. We certainly could have, and perhaps it would have…

View original post 1,267 more words

About juliebat

Board Certified Behavior Analyst consulting with kids with autism in homes, schools and other settings; parent of daughter with autism; interested in social skills, staff and parent training, feeding challenges, and interactions between people and animals.

Leave a Reply

